Update: Pesky Reality Getting in the Way of a Good Story

Last week I was very critical of an article titled “Lack of Facebook Access Makes You Want to Quit? Grow up Punks,” and even went so far as to send the author (Ms. Ann All) a personal email. You can read my post here.

Today I was referred to her follow-up story (thanks for the tip Damian), which I also disagree with and I let Ann know in the comments section. I didn’t pull many punches and didn’t feel the need to, after all it’s not like she answered my email – tongue firmly planted in cheek. However, after posting a comment (included below) I checked my Spam folder and found an email from Ms. All:

Joe,

Allow me to direct you to the follow-up to the post you reference: http://www.itbusinessedge.com/blogs/tve/?p=343
Not sure if it’ll change your opinion, but I hope so.
– Ann

Granted this is a quasi automated message, but at least she took the time to do that. It can’t be easy to have an inbox full of dissenting emails and I commend Ann for taking this challenge head on. Now I feel a little bad about being so hard on the poor woman… but just a little 🙂

My comment:

I’m still struggling to find the point to either post. You jump from bandwidth/network performance issues to proposed business internet policies to predicting that certain attitudes will prove to be harmful in the work place to the tired web versus human interaction debate.

The amazing thing is you’re still wrong on many of these points, even after a barrage of emails and comments. If you’re worried about programs that slow office networks let’s talk about p2p programs (or even YouTube) not Facebook.

If the post was about policies businesses should adopt towards employee internet usage, how about being a little more specific than “My stance was… that companies need Internet usage policies, but largely to prevent the use of sites that pose obvious security and liability risks”? Care to elaborate on “largely”?

Finally if you’re trying to provide some noteworthy insight into the effect of Facebook or social networks as a whole, you fail. You readily admit that you don’t understand the service – “In particular, I don’t get “the Wall.” How are you supposed to use it?” – I’d suggest not attempting to speculate on its social impact.

As I said in my response to your first post, you clearly have a very poor understanding of Facebook, actually of social media on the whole. Either you don’t realize this deficiency or you went for a sensationalist headline, hoping by mentioning Facebook you’d get a few hits. I’m not sure which is worse.

Leave a Reply

