Will Someone Please Create a Service That Logs Me Into All Of My Online Accounts With One Click??!!!!

Here’s what I want: One site where I store my login information for every online account I have – Yahoo Mail, Gmail, Facebook, Yahoo Messenger, Skype, Youtube, Wells Fargo, UCLA, Digg, Netvibes, Ultimate-Guitar, FriendFeed, WordPress, Blogger, OleOle, Fark, and Pownce.

This site would be my home page (preferably have a Google search box too) and as soon as I login it automatically logs me into every online account I have so when I visit the sites I’m already signed in. Not one click for each site, one click in total, and I’m signed in BEFORE I even visit a site.

Please, someone build this now

6 Responses to Will Someone Please Create a Service That Logs Me Into All Of My Online Accounts With One Click??!!!!

  1. Rajab Bader says:

    Joe, my friend runs a startup called Passpack (www,passpack.com) I think it will do the job for you, just check it out.

  2. Joe Cure says:

    Right, so that site does basically the same thing as the company profiled here by Techcrunch which was the inspiration for this post.

    These kinds of services provide you with a link you add to your bookmarks and then you click it to login to any site you’ve stored in their database. However, it’s not really any different than the “Remember password” feature many sites and web browsers already have – you go to a site, click a button and then you’re logged in.

    I want to sign in to one place at the beginning of my internet session and then be logged in to every online account I have the first time I visit each site

  3. Rajab Bader says:

    Now I got it Joe. You’re just lazy!
    I will talk to my friend to see if that can be done though

  4. Tara Kelly says:

    Hi Joe,
    Rajab pinged on twitter me about your post. The short answer: it’s not technically impossible, but I don’t know how flexible it would be. What if you have 2 Gmail accounts – which one gets logged in? What if you want to visit a site without being logged in? What if you have 300 logins saved — should you be logged into them all everytime you start your browser?

    I’m not criticizing 🙂 Just brainstorming some of the issues I see right off the bat. That said, we’ll give it some thought. No problem is unsolvable, it’s just a matter of finding the best solution for everyone.

    Got any other ideas? Would love to hear them.

  5. Joe Cure says:

    @ Tara – good questions and nothing wrong with criticizing – especially criticizing me 🙂

    I don’t see flexibility as a big issue. If I have 2 Gmail accounts I could store one with your service or neither. If I don’t want to be logged in to a site I’d either not log in to your service or simply log out of the site once I visit it (although I can’t think of many occasions where I’d prefer to not be logged in).

    The point I’m making is – nothing against what you’ve built, it’s certainly impressive – but I’d never use it. There are a million different ways I can store my passwords online so I can access them remotely, but more importantly I just use a web browser to manage my saved passwords. Yes, I have to type them in if I’m on a different computer but 99% of the time I spend online is with my personal computer so it’s not a big issue.

    Now, the opportunity I see is for a service like yours to do what I’ve outlined above. Essentially it gives the average internet user a reason to use your product because there is a significant value added. The average internet user doesn’t care a ton about security (which is the main distinguishing characteristic I see in your service, but I could be wrong) but he/she cares a lot about convenience. Not having to take one extra step to login to each of my online communities is a huge benefit and I’d sign up for a service today that can do that for me.

  6. Tara Kelly says:

    I understand where you’re going with this. I can appreciate the need for convenience, but we can’t compromise security. True that the average internet user doesn’t care much about security… until they have a security problem, then they look straight to the company that failed to protect them. 🙂

    It mostly sounds like Passpack isn’t the right fit for you. It’s primarily built for folks who change computers or travel often. If you’re on your PC 99% of the time, then you simply don’t need that type of flexibility. You might be better off with just using your browser’s autofill (make sure to set the master password though!).

    All that said, I’ll definitely keep your suggestions in mind… you never know where they may lead.

    Cheers again!
    Tara

Leave a Reply

