My Boat Stage 1: Demolition

After the previous owner cleared out, here’s what I was left with.  Time to get to work…

Before

Before

The urine yellow foam mattress looked less than desirable so I cut it into manageable pieces with a razor blade and threw it away.  After that I started looking at the ugly gray felt and realized it was only attached to the hull by industrial staples.  Naturally I pulled them out…

During

During

… to reveal black paint.  No problem, I figured I could sand it off or paint over it – either option would be better than that hideous felt.  Next I looked at the wood the mattress had been sitting on.  It was in fine shape but plywood is pretty cheap and I want a fresh, clean place to sleep so I decided that should go too.

If you look closely at the picture you can see the “bed” is split down the middle into two pieces of wood.  The left side was only secured by two screws and came up easily.  The right side was secured by 350,789 enormous screws that conveniently were old enough to strip quite easily (meaning they were impossible to unscrew).  I yelled, screamed, pummeled small children for a few hours, and finally summoned up enough strength to rip the piece of wood through the screws with brute force and a screwdriver.

Note to self: DO NOT SCREW DOWN THESE PIECES AFTER REPLACING

With the bed demon conquered, I tried my hand at sanding off the black paint.  My goal was to take all the paint off, get down to the original wood and stain it to match the rest of the boat.

After

After

As you can see that didn’t work out so well.  The paint was thicker than a linebacker’s neck and wasn’t going anywhere any time soon.  No problem, I sanded it the best I could, gave it a good wipe down and vacuum and now it’s ready to paint.

While I was working on the bed I was also splitting time with the desk and partition between the state room (downstairs, forward bedding area) and galley (upstairs, rear kitchen area).  Regrettably I don’t have a picture of what the partition looked like before but these should give you some idea

see edge of partition on right

see edge of partition on right

Desk on left, butts up to edge of partition

Desk on left, butts up to edge of partition

What these pictures don’t show is a dilapidated air conditioning unit and a car stereo deck with a cassette player – yes, a cassette player – that were poorly mounted into the middle of the partition.

So I got to thinking. (1) I’ve had a desk in my bedroom for as long as I can remember and have never used it. (2) I don’t want to keep the AC unit or the stereo and they’re taking up a lot of room that could be put to a much better use… maybe like supporting a 48″ plasma HD TV :). With that in mind the only reasonable solution then was to (yes, all together now) RIP – IT – OUT!

Large hole where AC unit was, desk still intact

Large hole where AC unit was, desk still intact

No more desk.  Nice, clean partition after removing 100ft of wire

No more desk. Nice, clean partition after removing 100ft of wire

The area formerly known as desk.  The red cables on the floor power the winch for the anchor (what pulls the anchor up)

The area formerly known as desk. The red cables on the floor power the winch for the anchor (what pulls the anchor up)

Galley side of the partition, hole was for the excommunicated AC unit

Galley side of the partition, hole was to vent the excommunicated AC unit

Now it’s all set to be rewired (cue the electrician), painted, and put back together.  Uhhh about that….

long face after a long day

long face after a long day

6 Responses to My Boat Stage 1: Demolition

  1. Tyler Howells says:

    Hey there big guy looking good when did you purchase this boat and what is the story with it it….. Oh and I get to take a ride!!!

  2. Gregg Sawyer says:

    Home owner ship is soooo much fun! Looks like the results will be incredible- but a long road to the finish. Still the coolest idea I have heard in a long time,

  3. Joe Cure says:

    Howells if your hot ass makes it out to Los Angeles you can be the captain. A little bit about the boat is here – https://mondaymorningblogger.wordpress.com/2008/09/22/my-1964-jeffries/ – but basically I was moving out of my apartment and figured living on a boat would be a hell of a lot cooler than getting another shoebox in Los Angeles.

    Sawyerbomb – “owner ship” very punny. Yes, very long road but should be a blast

  4. Johnny says:

    Joe, let me know if you need a first mate Skipper…-Gilligan

  5. Dave G says:

    Awesome! Even better than I expected. I can’t wait to see what you do with the former desk/partition area – multi media center? One question, how many beers will the fridge hold, or should I just bring a cooler?:)

  6. Joe Cure says:

    A cooler? I’d be offended. I have a full sized mini-fridge so there’s room for at least a few cases. The desk is going to be a couch (aka seat of love). Not exactly sure how to build it yet but I’m sure I’ll figure something out

Leave a Reply

